Learning and Schooling

“Schooling is not my field,” acknowledged my friend Daniel in our conversation this morning. I was thankful for that fact because I never liked schooling – particularly the plethora of attempts aimed at getting me to read that which I considered useless fo life and living. But even though Daniel is not into “schooling”, he’s probably been able to pursuade me to read more books in 5 years than 20 teachers could do in 12 years notwithstanding getting me to pay for it! How did he get that right? Does part of the answer lie in understanding the difference between schooling and learning?

I attended this conference in Chicago earlier this year and some of what Connie Yowell says speak at the heart of the question.

Leave a Reply

